Thread: Cox Data Usage Notification - anyone else get these

Load Metric

Cox Data Usage Notification - anyone else get these

"Your Cox High Speed Internet package includes a data plan of 300 Gigabytes. As of July 26, 2014, your household has used 902 Gigabytes of usage data in the current billing cycle. Some common factors affecting data usage include the number of Internet-connected devices in the household, Wi-Fi network security, the amount of streaming video watched, and the presence of viruses and spyware on one or more home computers. "

Is this just some scam to upsell me some package or do I really risk getting my Internet turned off? I checked their packages but the highest they have is 400 gigs a month. I am using roughly 90 gigs a day ever since I got this 4k TV. I am new to Cox and when I was with Comcast I never got this shit. It is pretty annoying that they would even send this given I pay them around 300 a month.
    :freelewfather

Load Metric
    You have to call them and explain that the Wormhole needs massive gigabits as a sacrifice to keep it running.

Load Metric
    FFS, rename this forum to CONSUMER FRAUD ALERT asap druff thx.

Load Metric
    Didn't you move to NYC? If so, you should check into Veizon FIOS internet. Their website is showing 150 mbs for $129.99 a month. They don't mention a cap or a bandwidth throttling limit on their website.

http://www.verizon.com/home/fios-fas...internet-plans

Blog Entries
    Load Metric
    Comcast back at it again testing out a new ways to get money from people going over the cap in certain markets:

http://gizmodo.com/comcast-will-cap-...ium=socialflow

Blog Entries
    Load Metric
    Yeah I had no idea there is a bandwidth limit in any US home internet plans.

Awful.

What do they claim will happen if you ignore this? Are there any threats?

Blog Entries
    Load Metric
    I found this: http://www.cox.com/residential/suppo...3-000000000000

Claims they have as much as a 2000 GB plan.