Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Laptop

Bronze
    Load Metric

New Laptop

I am in the market for a new Laptop, my current Dell is 6 years old and due for an upgrade. My question is what laptops would you recommend and is the Macbook worth the extra money. I have an iphone, ipad and Apple TV and love each of each products. I have never owed and Macbook, and would like any input.

Thanks.

Load Metric
    What do you want to use it for?

I consider the macbook pro's to be the gold standard but Im an engineer, I work a lot with the command line and I run a lot of virtual machines so I need a lot of RAM, a reasonably burly CPU, and dece battery uptime.

That said, my macbook pro is on its last legs and rather than wait another couple of months to get the new macbook pro when it drops, I copped a 17.3" MSI GE70 Apache Pro-012 last night. Its less than half the price of a macbook pro and although I lose a lot of the functionality I like, I can wipe it, load linux on it, reinstall its Windows 8 shite in a VM. Plus its got removable batteries which is a huge plus over the macbooks.
    "Birds born in a cage think flying is an illness." - Alejandro Jodorowsky

"America is not so much a nightmare as a non-dream. The American non-dream is precisely a move to wipe the dream out of existence. The dream is a spontaneous happening and therefore dangerous to a control system set up by the non-dreamers." -- William S. Burroughs

Bronze
    Load Metric
    I don't use it for work. I just use it for general internet stuff. I like my other apple products so much I didn't know if it would be worth the extra money.

Load Metric
    Youre paying top dollar for a lot of horsepower and high performance with a macbook pro. If that doesnt have a lot of equity for you, there isnt a lot to be said for spending that money.

In any case, dont buy one until the new ones drop in September, if youre going that route.