Thread: Lee Jones has quit Pokerstars, and has made a brief statement on 2+2 about it

Blog Entries
    Load Metric

Lee Jones has quit Pokerstars, and has made a brief statement on 2+2 about it

Lee Jones, longtime cardroom manager of Pokerstars, then briefly of Cake Poker, and then of Pokerstars again, has finally quit.

This was discovered on thie "About" page of his website: https://leejones.com/about

My name is Lee and I've been playing poker for 35 years. I wrote a book called Winning Low Limit Hold’em back in the ‘90s. After many wonderful years at PokerStars, I’m happy to report that I am no longer working for the Man. No surprise, my love affair with poker is raging. I’m playing, writing, and coaching, every chance I get. I am excited to see what comes next in this adventure.

Someone posted this on 2+2, and a debate broke out regarding whether Lee was a good or bad guy.

His detractors accused him of being an unethical paid shill of Amaya (current Pokerstars owners), publicly defending any of their unfair/unethical behavior because it paid his bills.

His supporters stated that he is a good, ethical man who loves the game of poker, and was simply a spokesman for the company in the later years. They insisted he didn't make any of the unpopular decisions, nor could he overrule any of them.

Here's what I wrote about him on 2+2:

As someone who played very actively on Pokerstars since almost the beginning all the way through Black Friday, I had a lot of visibility into Lee's work.

Back then, he was a mostly beloved figure in poker.

Later on, in the Amaya days, opinions started to change, especially after a series of player-unfriendly decisions by the company.

I don't know Lee personally. I know who he is, and he knows who I am (I'm Dan Druff, in case you weren't aware), but we had little direct contact with one another.