Thread: The benefits of an MBA?

Load Metric

The benefits of an MBA?

I currently work as a Budget Analyst for a major communications company.

I have a Bachelors in Finance and am currently looking to get into the banking side of the industry. With that said I won't even get looked at for a Financial Analyst position without an MBA.

I have started looking into graduate schools and have a few I am planning on applying to. I am nervous about having to take out more loans and whether it will be cost effective and beneficial to obtain an MBA just to get a pay bump in a job, that let's be honest, is not guaranteed.

Anyone hold an MBA? Are you glad you obtained it? Has it aided you in your career?
    "I hit that shot because it was a defining moment and when a defining moment comes along, you either define the moment or the moment defines you" Roy "Tin Cup" Mcevoy

Load Metric
    You gotta admit there is humor in an MBA candidate that can't do a cost benefit analysis on the value of an MBA.

Some people pursue advanced degrees because they are intellectually curious about a subject which interest them.

If you are considering a career or education that is simply an exchange of your time for money then you are squandering the short time you have left. It goes fucking fast.

Some people actually like what they do. They would like to learn more. It ain't a cost benefit issue. Those people generally do well. They are usually happier and healthier.

Looking back on my life as I riff there was only one subject in school that actually had me walking out of class saying "that is fucking cool" and that was electronic engineering. I veered wildly off course. I now have trouble with my phone.

I will say the worst career decisions were those I made for the money. Always ended in regret and misery. I was always a terrible soldier.

Silver
    Load Metric
    Quote Originally Posted by Tegnation22 View Post