Quote:
Originally Posted by
verminaard
Well, at that point the issue wasn't whether he had made a legal raise or not. The issue is that the dealer announced raise and 6 people acted on this announcement, so no semi-competent floorman should ever change it to a call in this spot.
Question:
If he just threw in a 1k chip without ANY gesture, the dealer announced raise, and 6 people folded, would you say it should be ruled a raise?
I would think it could be argued that those 6 people screwed themselves by not knowing the rules.
I think the "there's already action, hand stands" precedent only deals with dealer error, such as if the button is incorrect, and it's only noticed after a raise and re-raise preflop. But this is different.
The WSOP has a "significant action" rule, meaning that the floor man can back out a hand if there aren't at least 2 players whom have voluntarily put chips in the pot.
I think the same might apply here. Phil's action followed by 6 folds pre-flop doesn't constitute significant action.