Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Must have gadgets for camping, desert or off grid.

Load Metric

Lightbulb Must have gadgets for camping, desert or off grid.

Hey desertrunner, can you start a new Thread of Must have Gadgets for camping in the Desert or anywhere off the Grid thread. I already have purchased alot of the must haves.. and know you and other users have great ideas too. I frankly don't post here due to the fact that most of them arguing about politics and other boring topics .

Thank You for bringin new life to this forum.
    This thread is by request of another member and I ran it past Druff prior. I am not really an expert on survival and bugging out, rather a continuous student. But will share what I know and have so far.

I dont go out camping right now, but I want to get an SUV and "overland camp" in it, just pure SUV out in the wide open. I will list and breakdown what I have below, but suggest consulting some of the other websites out there for tip,s suggestions, ideas, etc.

Power Source- Right now I have a Jackery Power Bar that is only 22k miliamps. Designed to power up a laptop and cell phones, it seems to be a nice small power supply with one rear outlet. I specifically like this unit because it is USB-C rechargeable and I dont have to carry an extra cradle or adapter, just charge in the car as I drive. There are bigger battery packs out there, I like the bigger Jackery unit as I am thinking it would run an electric blanket during the winter nights and still charge my cell phone, lantern, flashlight, etc. https://www.jackery.com/products/pow...rtable-charger

There are solar charging panels for these large battery generators as well. Look at Goal Zero, etc.

Flashlights- As covered in the other thread, I only like the USB rechargeable lights, dont want to carry a charging cradle or adapter. Buy quality and not cheap, a light should be a long term 20 year investment.